975
WEXX32 PAAQ 190741
TIBATE

Tsunami Information Statement Number 1
NWS National Tsunami Warning Center Palmer AK
341 AM EDT Fri Aug 19 2016

...THIS IS A TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT FOR THE U.S. AND CANADA
EAST COASTS, GULF OF MEXICO STATES, PUERTO RICO, THE U.S. VIRGIN
ISLANDS AND THE BRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS...

EVALUATION
----------
* There is no tsunami danger for the areas listed above.

* Earthquakes of this size are known to generate tsunamis
dangerous to shorelines near the source.

* An earthquake has occurred with parameters listed below.


PRELIMINARY EARTHQUAKE PARAMETERS
---------------------------------
* The following parameters are based on a rapid preliminary
assessment and changes may occur.

* Magnitude 7.7
* Origin Time 0333 EDT Aug 19 2016
0233 CDT Aug 19 2016
0333 AST Aug 19 2016
0733 UTC Aug 19 2016
* Coordinates 55.4 South 31.9 West
* Depth 34 miles
* Location in the South Georgia Island region, southeast of South America


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AND NEXT UPDATE
--------------------------------------
* Refer to the internet site ntwc.arh.noaa.gov for
additional information.

* Caribbean coastal regions outside Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin
Islands and British Virgin Islands should refer to the Pacific
Tsunami Warning Center messages at ptwc.weather.gov.

* This will be the only U.S. National Tsunami Warning Center
message for this event unless additional information
becomes available.

$$